Shared solutions to protect shared values

  • Walrus Cows and Yearlings on Ice. Photo credit: USFWS / Joel Garlich-Miller
  • Touring by canoe. Photo creedit: USFWS / Steve Hillebrand
  • Sunrise. Photo credit: USFWS / Steve Hillebrand

Nominations for the 2019 Climate Adaptation Leadership Awards for Natural Resources

The nomination period closed on May 18. Please watch this space for more information.

The Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies and partners are seeking nominations for the Climate Adaptation Leadership Award (Award) which recognizes outstanding efforts to increase the resilience of America’s valuable living natural resources and the many people, businesses and communities that depend on them.

The Climate Award Leadership Award was established in 2016 to recognize exemplary leadership by individuals, agencies, businesses and other organizations to reduce impacts and advance adaptation of the nation’s vital natural resources in a changing world.

Previous Award recipients 2016, 2017, and 2018 have been recognized for outstanding leadership in resource management, science, education, training and other goals of the National Fish, Wildlife and Plants Climate Adaptation Strategy (NFWPCAS).

Individuals, groups, organizations, and government agencies are eligible to apply.  Awards (and Honorable Mentions) are expected to be announced in September 2019.  The criteria for the award can be found here.

Nominations will be accepted for the following categories:

  • Federal government
  • State or local government
  • Tribal government
  • Other organizations (for example, industry, environmental, academic, NGO)
  • Broad partnerships (co-led efforts)
  • Individual leadership
  • Student leadership (for groups or individuals enrolled in college or university)
  • Youth leadership (for groups or individuals up to 18 years old)

Fish, wildlife, and plant resources provide billions of dollars in economic activity, millions of jobs, and many other important benefits and services to Americans every year including food, clean water and air, building materials, storm protection, tourism, and recreation. The Award recognizes efforts to reduce impacts and sustain these valuable living resources and the many businesses and communities that depend on them every day.

Led by the Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies, the Award is given out each year in collaboration with partners from the USDA Forest Service, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and others.